Upcoming Events


6th form pupils return to Limavady High School on Friday 29th August, 2014.

School opens for Years 8, 13 and 14 on Monday 1st September, with prefects in attendance.

School opens for all years on Tuesday 2nd September.

Read more

View all events

Latest News


GCSE Results improve for second consecutive year

Thursday 21st August may have been a day of inclement weather but at Limavady High School  as pupils arrived to receive their long awaited GCSE results spirits were very high as results have improved for the second year in a row.  The school has quite justifiably a real sense of pride as both pupils and staff alike celebrate what has been a great overall achievement at GCSE level.

“This year we can celebrate as we have achieved our best set of results to date” said school Principal Mr Shane Laverty. “ We have put in place a rigorous plan involving continuous monitoring, evaluation and review of pupil progress. We have also introduced new subjects to the curriculum which are more geared to the career pathways of our pupils. All of this, along with the hard work and dedication of our staff and the diligence and improved sense of self worth which we try to encourage in our pupils has helped to bring these results about.”

Mr Laverty said, “the number of pupils who have achieved 5 grades or more at A*-C has improved significantly over the past two years – an improvement of 23% - with 80% of entries now achieving at that level. This is well above the Northern Ireland average for similar schools”.

Mr Laverty went on,”There has also been a significant increase over the same two year period of 48% in the number of pupils who have achieved 5 Grades A*-C including English and Maths with the figure now standing at 40% - again above the Northern Ireland average. Results in English and Maths have continued to improve as the school introduces further strategies to improve outcomes in these two essential areas”.  

“It is our aim to continue to build on the fine reputation which the school has in the community and to improve our results year on year. We are about building relationships and helping our young people to improve their self esteem. Our pupils will be the backbone of the community in future years and it is vital that they become confident adults who can contribute to the local economy and society in general”, he said.

 Mr Laverty went on, “ The parents and in particular the staff of the school deserve so much credit as they strive to improve self esteem amongst our pupils. It is my aim to help create a “happy school” where learning takes place”.

Mr Laverty would advise any pupils from the school or any other school who wish to enrol at Limavady High to further their post 16 education to contact the school on 028 77762526.

Read more


Big Bang Near You

On Tuesday, 24th June 5 local primary schools joined Year 8 pupils in Limavady High School for a science convention. 120 pupils from Gorran, Roe Valley Integrated, Macosquin, Cumberclaudy and Drumrane primary schools joined a number of year 8 puils and spent the morning taking part in three workshops facilitated by Sentinus. Pupils were challenged to build a bridge spanning a metre from newspaper and cellotape, learned how to construct model hovercraft and learned about the basics of windmill technology in alternative energy production. In addition to developing scientific knowledge and gaining information on potential career pathways, pupils had the opportunity to develop teamwork , communication and problem solving skills. Mrs Calvin, Head of Careers, expressed her thanks to the Sentinus personnel, David Pilkington and Frank McCann who led the workshops and to the year 11 pupils who acted as mentors on the day.

Read more

View all latest news

Back to Top